Whisky Focus - The Glencairn Glass Crime Short Story Competition 2023

The Glencairn Glass Crime Short Story Competition 2023

30th October 2023
The Glencairn Glass crime short story competition is returns and is looking for entries.

The Glencairn Glass sponsored Bloody Scotland Crime Short Story Competition 2023

The world’s favourite whisky glass, the Glencairn Glass, is once again venturing into the thrilling realm of crime fiction with its annual short story competition. They have once again launched the event, in collaboration with the Bloody Scotland International Crime Writing Festival and Scottish Field Magazine, the competition beckons writers to submit their compelling crime stories set in Scotland, all under 2000 words. The deadline for submissions is December 31, 2023.

The winner of this prestigious competition will not only receive a prize of £1,000 but also have their story published in the esteemed Scottish Field Magazine. Additionally, the runner-up will be awarded a cash prize of £500. Both winning entries will be showcased on the Scottish Field website and the Glencairn Glass website (whiskyglass.com).

This competition has seen a remarkable influx of entries from both seasoned and budding crime writers worldwide over the past two years. Embracing a theme of "A crime set in Scotland," the competition continues to allure writers from all corners of the globe, offering them a platform to showcase their talent and creativity.

The Glencairn Glass is no stranger to the ‘dram-atic’ world of Scottish crime fiction. The Scottish family business Glencairn Crystal has celebrated and supported the Bloody Scotland Crime Writing Festival since 2020 with its Glencairn Glass sponsorship of the McIlvanney Prize for the Scottish Crime Book of the Year and the Bloody Scotland Debut Crime Novel of the Year awards. Earlier this year a new three-year deal was agreed to secure the company’s commitment and sponsorship until the end of 2025.

The esteemed panel of judges for this year’s Glencairn Glass short story competition includes Callum McSorley, the acclaimed author of Squeaky Clean and winner of this year's Bloody Scotland McIlvanney Prize. Joining him is Kate Foster, an accomplished journalist and author whose debut novel, The Maiden, received the Bloody Scotland’s Debut Prize. The third judge is Gordon Brown, the marketing director of Glencairn Crystal and a crime writer with eleven published crime and thriller books to his name.

Gordon Brown expressed his enthusiasm, stating, "We are delighted to set out on the search for a great Scottish set crime short story once more. The Glencairn Glass’s sponsorship of the crime writing prizes at Bloody Scotland and its success globally, makes it the perfect glass to toast all those writers that are about to sit down to pen a classic crime short story."

Reflecting on the impact of winning, last year's champion, Frances Crawford from Glasgow, shared her experience. Her winning story, "The Dummy Railway," offered a gripping narrative through the perspective of a young Scottish girl, earning her the top spot. Frances, who graduated at 60 with an MLitt (First) in Creative Writing from Glasgow University, emphasized how winning the competition opened numerous doors for her in the literary world.

Frances commented: "What attracted me to the Glencairn Glass Crime Short Story Competition was the fact that it is so inclusive and open to everyone, whether absolute beginner or published author. Since winning, I developed The Dummy Railway as a full-length novel, with very promising agent interest. It was an honour to win such a prestigious prize. I would encourage crime writers at all stages of their writing path to enter".

In 2021, Brid Cummings, a fiction writer and occupational therapist from South Australia, clinched the victory in the inaugural Glencairn Glass Crime Short Story Competition. Her entry, "Halmeoni’s Wisdom," unfurled a grim narrative surrounding human trafficking, illicit trade, and the longing for liberation. Brid's triumph in the competition acted as a catalyst, instilling in her the confidence and motivation to finish her psychological suspense novel. Subsequently, she has recently secured representation by a UK literary agency, marking a significant milestone in her writing career.

To participate in the competition, all short story submissions must be made via www.whiskyglass.com/crime-short-story-competition. The submission window closes at midnight on Sunday, December 31, 2023. The names of the winner and runner-up will be revealed in March 2023.

Bloody Scotland’s Festival Director, Bob McDevitt, said: "Bloody Scotland has always been dedicated to supporting and discovering new writing and this short story competition provides a great opportunity for writers to flex their creative muscles and explore the broad church of crime writing."

Where To Buy Whisky Online

Select a country for a list of specialist Whisky shops who delivers to you:


Whisky Focus

<<<Back to Whisky Focus for more Whisky News

Top Of Page

 Drink Safely   Add Your Site   Other Whisky Sites    Links   Contact Us 

© 2022 www.scotchmaltwhisky.co.uk All rights reserved.