Whisky Focus - Ardbeg Supernova Awarded Best Scotch Whisky of The Year 2010

Ardbeg Supernova Scotch Whisky of The Year

6th October 2009
Ardbeg Makes it a Triple!
Scottish Islay Malt Awarded Best Scotch Whisky of Year

Ardbeg Supernova has been named Best Scotch Whisky of the Year, the third year running an Ardbeg single malt has been awarded such a prestigious accolade.

This follows the success of the distillery’s flagship expression Ardbeg Ten Years Old, and Ardbeg Uigeadail, which were named World Whisky of the Year in 2008 and 2009, respectively.

The award for Ardbeg Supernova comes with the publication of the seventh annual edition of whisky authority and writer Jim Murray’s, “Whisky Bible”. A favourite with whisky aficionados, barmen and connoisseurs around the world Jim Murray has nosed and tasted nearly 1,000 new whiskies over the past year. The Jim Murray “Whisky Bible 2010” contains more than 3,850 whisky tasting notes in all. Ardbeg Supernova received 97 points out of 100. Murray described the dram as being “moody, atmospheric” and a “major beast”.

Bottled at 58.9 per cent, Ardbeg Supernova is a single malt Scotch whisky with a staggering peating level well in excess of 100 parts per million, making it the peatiest Ardbeg ever.

Hamish Torrie, Ardbeg Brand Director says: “With Ardbeg Supernova you have nothing less than a “galactic explosion” of flavours, with salt and pepper, roasted coffee, chilli and chocolate all contributing. Jim’s accolade of identifying Supernova as the best Scotch Whisky delights all of us who work on Ardbeg.

“It is a tribute to the consistency, dedication and skill of the team at the Distillery, and our Whisky Creation Team, led by Dr Bill Lumsden and Rachel Barrie.”

He continued: “Ardbeg Supernova was a limited edition in 2009. It probably means we’ll have to consider releasing some more in 2010!”

Where To Buy Ardbeg Supernova

Select a country for a list of specialist Whisky shops who delivers to you:

Where To Buy The Whisky Bible 2010

The Whisky Bible is published by Dram Good Books and is available from:

Signed copies by the author Jim Murray can be obtained from www.whiskybible.com  for only £10.99

Also available from Amazon for £7.14 with free delivery.


Other Whisky Bible 2010 Award Winners

See the complete list of all the Whisky Bible 2010 winners.
The Whisky Bible 2010 World Whisky Awards

Whisky Focus::

<<<Back to Whisky Focus for more Whisky News

Top Of Page

 Drink Safely   Add Your Site   Other Whisky Sites    Links   Contact Us 

© 2020 www.scotchmaltwhisky.co.uk All rights reserved.