www.scotchmaltwhisky.co.uk

Whisky Forum - Which whisky should I get from Scotland?

Whisky Forum

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in
Which whisky should I get from Scotland?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Pug-Nose

PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2008 2:16 pm    Post subject: Which whisky should I get from Scotland? Reply with quote

My girlfriend is going over to Scotland soon (on vacation from Norway)
I asked her to buy me a whisky while she was there.

But, which should she buy? I am quite new to this, but I enjoyed "The Dalmore Single Highland Malt 12 year old".

Is there any that you could recommend? And that she can buy from a shop not that hard to find?

Price range around 150 USD or 75£

Andy M
Master Of Malts
Master Of Malts

PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2008 10:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Pug-Nose

For that amount of money and considering that you are quite new to Scotch malt whisky there is a huge selection available for you to choose from.

The big cities such as Glasgow and Edinburgh have a few excellent Scotch Whisky shops such as Oddbins, The Whisky Shop and Royal Mile Whiskies.

There is also a great selection of whisky and some good bargains to be had at the airports. I dont know which airport your girlfriend is flying into in Scotland but you will find a "World of Whiskies" shop at Glasgow and Edinburgh airports both of which have a good selection of whisky with considerable savings on shop prices.

You can check out the World of Whiskies website where you can view their latest offers at their airport shop http://www.worlddutyfree.com/portal/site/wdf.html
Check out their Malt Wisky Offers and their World of Whiskies pages on the site.

You say you enjoyed The Dalmore 12 year old, other good sherried malts that you would probably enjoy are:

Aberlour a'bunadh, 10 year old, 15 year old